Austria is a landlocked country in Central Europe. With a population of about 9 million, it has 83.69 square kilometers area. The official language is German. There are three more recognized languages ​​as well. 69% Christians, 22% have no religious affiliation or interest in providing information, 8% Muslims.

There is not much to mention about the Austrian constitution. One thing is interesting, however, is the opportunity to move the capital elsewhere in an emergency. The constitution of many countries mentions the name of the capital, but what if there is a sudden war, epidemic, meteorite hit or different disaster? This part of the Austrian constitution is therefore the exception.

In addition, there is a constitutional obligation that no political boundary should form any exclave or enclave. 


Constitution of Austria


Admirable Articles of Austria’s Constitution

Art 5

1. The Federal capital and seat of the highest Federal authorities is Vienna.

2. For the duration of extraordinary circumstances the Federal President can, at the request of the Federal Government, relocate the seat of the highest Federal authorities to another location in the Federal territory. 

Art 26

2. The Federal territory will be divided into self-contained constituencies whose boundaries may not overlap the Laender boundaries; these constituencies shall be sub-divided into self-contained regional constituencies.

Art 60

1. The Federal President is elected by the Federal  people on the basis of equal, direct, personal, free and secret suffrage  by men and women having suffrage to the National Council.